Skip to content

Datuk Chua Jui Meng Press Statement on the withdrawal of Johor titles

June 20, 2010

19th June 2010
As you all already know I have been notified by the Secretary to the Royal Court of Johor, Datuk Rahim Ramly that two of my titles, the DPMJ and SPMJ have been withdrawn. On the 15th of June I received the official letter confirming it.
Though no reason was given I accept the Sultan’s prerogative and decision. I will gladly make the arrangements to send the medals back to the palace as soon as possible.
I have also notified Datuk Rahim that I have a 3rd medal from Johor – the P.I.S, and will be returning that as well.
I knew from the moment I joined Pakatan Rakyat that I had taken the road less traveled, and have been preparing myself for the struggles ahead.
Many of my colleagues have had to prove their reformist credentials by spending time in prison. I only needed to lose three of my medals, which is no great loss to me for as the saying goes: “Naked I came from my mother’s womb and naked I shall depart”.
In short I’m getting a good deal.
I am sure that by now UMNO regrets how badly they miscalculated this attempt to intimidate me. Within days of the announcement there has been a spontaneous outpouring of support from the rakyat all over Malaysia not only for myself but more so for PR.
The response tells me that the rakyat are tired of the petty and vindictive politics that have been the hallmarks of this administration, and wish to be rid of a government that is bankrupt of any real ideas to drive Malaysia forward.
Rather than deal openly with the rakyat on the bread and butter issues that face the nation: massive corruption, underserved communities, unfair economic policies, they choose instead to engage in the medieval politics of intimidation and force.
Their actions have only served to strengthen my commitment to work for a fairer Malaysia within the framework of PR, and my belief that I am standing on the right side of history.
As in football, the rakyat know when a player plays the man instead of the ball. In 2008 the rakyat gave UMNO a yellow card; the rate the government is going it will be a red card in 2012.
Datuk Chua Jui Meng

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

